Being the most western region of the main island Honshû, the Chûgoku is often barely explored by travellers who just pass by Hiroshima when they come in the region. Its territory has been shaped by legendary tales, popular immerged temples and idyllic seashore landscapes though. When you explore the region, you will have the opportunity to easily travel to the neighbouring Seto inland sea's islands as well as to Kyuushu and Shikoku islands.
Chûgoku, also called Sanin-Sanyō, includes five prefectures: Hiroshima, Okayama, Shimane, Tottori and Yamaguchi.