Containing a third of the japanese population, Kantô is the most developed, urbanized and industrialised region of the country. It spreads through the prefectures of Gunma, Tochigi, Ibaraki, Saitama, Tokyo, Chiba and Kanagawa. At its heart, Tokyo metropolis, capital since 1869 and first capital in the world when it comes to density of population.