As its name suggests, Chûbu is the central region of Japan. Among its nine prefectures: Aichi, Fukui, Gifu, Ishikawa, Nagano, Niigata, Toyama, Yamanashi and Shizuoka, the latter is the most famous as it is where the popular Mount Fiji stands.
Travelleres are drawn by the mountains and skii trails, the rice and tea fields, the traditional hotsprings and ancient castles.